What an excellent day for an exorcism.

the-exorcist-trailer-foggy-priest

Normally for Halloween me and my wife will do one of two things:

  1. Go to dinner and then go to the movies.
  2. Grab a bite and then come home and watch a horror movie.

Last night we decided to drive around the neighborhood to look at some of the trick or treaters, noticed a lot of lazy teenagers not dressed up going to houses trying to get candy (when we pass out candy that shit doesn’t fly). I also saw a couple cool costumes like an awesome Assassin’s Creed costume. We eventually made it out of our neighborhood and grabbed dinner at Milo’s (their food has always been hit or miss with me) and then went back home to watch this year’s Halloween movie “The Exorcist.”

Now I was extremely late to the party on this classic. When I was a kid I was all about Nightmare on Elm Street, Halloween, and Friday the 13th. I think the first “older” horror movie I saw was “Rosemary’s Baby” which came out in 1968, and I caught it on I think the SciFi channel back in the mid 90’s.

Anyways I remember when I was getting really into the Horror film genre my mother told me I should watch “The Exorcist” because it scared her really badly as a kid. But I never did, I would rather watch “Ghost in the Machine” then watch a movie that came out in the 70’s that supposedly scared my mom.

So in May of 2000 I got a DVD player for my High School Graduation present (I bought myself a computer earlier that year and my dad used that as an excuse not to get me a computer like other kids….but I was the only one in my group of friends that had a DVD player). Later that year I started to build my DVD collection with some of my favorite movies and saw that :The Exorcist : The Version You’ve Never Seen” was on sell so I finally decided to pick it up and watch it that night.

That movie honestly scared the hell out of me. So my mom was right all along The Exorcist was a truly terrifying experience. So after that I pretty much watch that movie along with some others once a year, because they are great movies.

 

So fast forward to last night while me and the wife was watching the upgraded Blu-ray 40th Anniversary edition version with the surround sound on (even though the movie doesn’t really take advantage of it; it was mainly on because our TV speaker’s suck). I have seen this movie so many times that I really only pay attention to specific scenes in the movie. I happened to notice something on this viewing. If a viewer were to go into this movie blind they would honestly have no idea what type of movie this was. It is almost an hour in before we get into the actual subject matter. I mean there are some extremely small hints, but that is about it.

During this time we are introduced to the main characters and they spend that time doing character development. I mean we learn that Father Karras (Jason Miller) is slowly questioning his faith and regrets leaving his mother. We also learn that Chris MacNeil (Ellen Burstyn) is a top name actress, but is also a loving parent figure that cares about her daughter.

I also found their extreme limited use of music in the movie interesting. The theme (Tubular Bell’s) that we are all familiar with only played four times in the film, and they were in short burst.

This movie still creeps me out today and I am not sure if it is because of it’s subject matter, the use of practical effects, or the acting is just that damn good. For a movie that is over 40 years old it is incredible on how well it holds up, even for something that is in the horror genre.

If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

